10 Books To Read In 2019

Updated: Jan 11, 2019



As many of you know last year my resolution was to read a book a month. I completed that resolution and ended up reading double that which felt both exciting and so rewarding. I've seen so many people making that resolution for this year and I think it's an incredible one to keep! There is nothing like getting lost in a great fiction novel and today I am sharing books that I'd like to read in 2019 and have yet to read myself. They should be great for a book club and lead to lively discussions!






If you haven't already, be sure to download the Goodreads app to track your progress and see awesome book reviews!



Also, be sure to check out readinggroupchoices.com for a list of Reading Group Choices by year and incredible conversation starters for your club.



#1. The Boat Runner

"In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale (both amazing reads if you haven't already), comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutchman who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II."



#2. Close Enough To Touch

"A "heart-wrenching and humorous" (Publishers Weekly) love story for anyone who's ever wanted something- or someone- just out of reach, Coleen Oakley's Close Enough To Touch will delight fans of Jojo Moyes's One Plus one and Gaeme Simsion's The Rosie Project."



#3. Where'd You Go, Bernadette

"One of the years best books." "As Intelligent and enlightening as it is charming... "Where'd You Go, Bernadette takes readers on an original and movingly imaginative adventure." - Elle



#4. The Little Paris Bookshop

"Internationally bestselling and filled with warmth and adventure, The Little Paris Bookshop is a love letter to books, meant for anyone who believes in the power of stories to shape peoples lives."



#5. The Burning Girl

A New York Times bestseller and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. "To what extent can we know ourselves and others? What are the stories we create to comprehend our lives and relationships? Brilliantly mixing fable and coming-of-age tale, The Burning Girl gets to the heart of these matters in an absolutely irresistible way.



#6. The Great Alone

"In this unforgettable portrait of human frailty and resilience, Kristin Hannah Reveals the indomitable Character of the modern American pioneer and the spirit of vanishing Alaska- a place of incomparable beauty and danger. The Great Alone is daring, beautiful, stay-up-all-night story about love and loss, the fight for survival, and the wildness of both man and nature."



#7. Sold On a Monday

"From New York Times bestselling author Kristina McMorris comes another unforgettable novel inspired by a stunning piece of history. Inspired by an actual newspaper photograph that stunned the nation, Sold On a Monday is a powerful novel of love, redemption, and the unexpected paths that bring us home.



#8. The Stars Are Fire

"Instant New York Times Bestseller. An exquisitely supsensful new novel about an extraordinary young woman tested by a catastrophic event- based on the true story of the largest fire in Maine's history."



#9. The Tattooist Of Auschwitz

"This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattoist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov- an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. "



#10. Carnegie's Maid

"Downtown Abbey fans should flock to this charming tale of fateful turns and unexpected romance, and the often unsung role of women in history." -Pam Jenoff



I hope this list sets you off to a great start for books to read in 2019! If you are interested in seeing some of my personal reviews on books from 2018 click here: https://www.katieandhercanines.com/blog/a-year-of-books



118 views1 comment

to collaborate or just say hi, please reach out for anything you might need. You can also reach me at katieandhercanines@gmail.com or on IG @katieandhercanines

© 2023 by Katie the dog mom. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon