My Summer Reading List




What goes better with sunshine than a great book? I am always happiest laying on a lawn chair, shades on, and lost in a world different from my own. Here is my summer reading list, some I have already finished and others I can't wait to dive into!



#1. Piecing Me Together

A timely and powerful story about a teen girl from a poor neighborhood striving for success, from acclaimed author Renée Watson. Friendships, race, privilege, identity—this compelling and thoughtful story explores the issues young women face. I finished this book in one day and it was one of the best books I've read all year!



#2. Summer Hours

From the author of The Summer List, a warmly told novel set in the mid-’90s and 2008 about the idealism of youth, the seductive power of nostalgia, and what happens when you realize you haven’t become the person you’d always promised to be. This really was the perfect beach read and if you enjoy it be sure to read her other "The Summer List."



#3. Excuse Me Your Life Is Waiting

Lynn Grabhorn answers life's tough questions with a resounding "Yes!" In Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting, she says that what actually molds every moment of every day of one's life are feelings. Using a candid, witty approach to a genre riddled with self-important puffery, she shows how feelings - not positive thinking, or sweat and strain, or good or bad luck, or even smarts - set the tone for people's lives. This book is perfect if you are stuck in a rut and need to get out fast.



#4. Sold On A Monday

Inspired by an actual newspaper photo that stunned readers across the nation, this touching novel explores the tale within the frame and behind the lens—a journey of ambition, love, and the far-reaching effects of our actions. I have a feeling this one will call for the tissues.



#5. Something In The Water

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave? Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman's enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we're tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves. This one will be a new type for me but I have never read a "Reese Witherspoon Book Club" book I didn't love.



#6. The Paris Seamstress

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes a World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family. I can't go the whole summer without reading a historical fiction novel and I have a feeling this one won't disappoint!



#7. Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bon's

The women of Freesia Court are convinced that there is nothing good coffee, delectable desserts, and a strong shoulder can’t fix. Laughter is the glue that holds them together—the foundation of a book group they call AHEB (Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons), an unofficial “club” that becomes much more. It becomes a lifeline.



#8. Where The Crawdads Sing

For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.



I found so many of these books at garage sales this year and my reading list just keeps growing. I'm off to get lost friends, let me know if you plan to read any of these!




56 views

to collaborate or just say hi, please reach out for anything you might need. You can also reach me at katieandhercanines@gmail.com or on IG @katieandhercanines

© 2023 by Katie the dog mom. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon